Oh, the Expectations

Last week I was talking to my sister and her husband about something I could do to help fill all this spare time I have at the moment. They enthusiastically suggested that I write a book.

I scoffed a little at the idea, but it’s been sitting in the back of my mind since.

And then today, this appeared in my twitter feed:

 

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. It’s a competition of sorts to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November.

50,000 words? That’s only ten to fifteen first year university essays. I can do that. This won’t be one of those times where I’m ultra excited to begin with, only to lose interest in a short time later. I’m going to do this! And to help with my motivation, I’m going to tell everyone! That’s actually Tips to Get You From 0 to 50K #3:

Tell everyone you know that you’re writing a novel in November. This will pay big dividends in Week Two, when the only thing keeping you from quitting is the fear of looking pathetic in front of all the people who’ve had to hear about your novel for the past month. Seriously. Email them now about your awesome new book. The looming specter of personal humiliation is a very reliable muse.

I have no idea what I’m going to write about, but people often compliment my prose, and that’s half of the battle, right? Actually being able to write comprehensively?

I’m feeling cautiously optimistic that this will be a success. Expectations of myself are high, though obviously I’m not going into this believing that I will be the next J K Rowling, but who knows. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Oh, the Expectations

  1. Pingback: The Adventure is Just Beginning « That Girl, Fae

Leave a Reply

