A Review, of Sorts

While J and I were away in Melbourne, I took the first book from the Sookie Stackhouse series to read (which I just learned is, apparently, also known as The Southern Vampire Mysteries).

The series is written by Charlene Harris, and is the basis for the TV series True Blood.

I purchased a collection of the first eight in the series a little time ago, and hadn’t gotten around to reading any yet.

I tell you, it was hard. Really hard. Disjointed and jumping all over the place. I actually struggle to see how the series became so popular. It made me want to punch Sookie in the face. She comes across all high-and-mighty and is incredibly unlikable.

I’ve only managed to get about half way through the first book, Dead Until Dark. Maybe it gets better? Sometimes the pilot for a new TV show can seem disjointed in a similar manner with having to fill in background to let the audience know some of the history of the characters, so you can get to know them. With a TV pilot, that type of thing is to be expected. Am I unfair in thinking that shouldn’t be the case for a book, even if the book is the beginning of a series?

The writing style is what I imagine Twilight series to be. I haven’t actually read any of the Twilight books, nor seen the movies. And I don’t want to. Ever. Though I suppose I’m not exactly the demographic for which it was aimed at.

However, one good thing did come out of reading Dead Until Dark: once we got back, I was able to finish reading A Dance with Dragons (couldn’t take it with us, the book is far too heavy and giant), and it was amazing. George R R Martin is incredible, as is the entire A Song of Ice and Fire series (which the TV show Game of Thrones is based on). It was like eating something salty, and following it with chocolate. Glorious.

Game of Thrones - Winter is Coming

Game of Thrones – Winter is Coming

PS. This is actually my 200th post! It’s taken about two and a half years, but I got there.

3 thoughts on “A Review, of Sorts

  1. I actually like the sookie stackhouse books, but you’re right, Sookie is a bit high and mighty. The tv series was based on these books, but now the tv series has nothing to do with the books except for character names. If someone were to watch the tv series having never read the books, they would never want to read the books. For me, they are easy and fun reads, but there are definitely books out there I enjoy a lot more and are more “meatier”.

    • I guess I just didn’t go into it as openminded as I thought I was. I have to more think of it as an alternative universe, seeing as all of the characters look like their TV versions in my head.

  2. Pingback: How To Make A Successful American Fantasy Drama « Stirring Trouble Internationally – Around the world

Leave a Reply

